The original building was constructed in 1880 by Harry Board, a carpenter and coffee grower. In 1901 he decided to open his home, then at 75 William Street, to visitors, so becoming the first guesthouse to operate in Buderim.
The Simpson family bought the property in the 1920's and called it home until the 1960's. A succession of families lived in the old house over the next thirty years, until tenants Eric and Lyn Moses finally brought it to the attention of the Maroochy Shire Council. The then owners, Brian and Victoria Kimbell, donated the house to the people of Maroochy Shire in 1990 and, in 1991, Harry's was relocated to the Buderim Forest. Renovation took place over the next few years, the Maroochy Shire Council returning it, as much as possible, to its original state.
Harry's Restaurant has been operating since 1994 and the wide verandas, once again, welcome diners, as they did in Harry Board’s day. In 2018, Stuart and Lisa Bell became the new owners of Harry's, after relocating their family from Victoria to the Sunshine Coast and today the iconic house can boast a fine dining Queensland experience.